Brief of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

In September 2015, the United Nations has declared the agenda of the Sustainable Development 2030 which includes 17 Goals, as follows:

  1. GOAL 1: No Poverty.
  2. GOAL 2: Zero Hunger.
  3. Good Health and Well-being.
  4. Quality Education.
  5. Gender Equality.
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation.
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy.
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth.
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure.
  10. Reduced Inequality.
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities.
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production.
  13. Climate Action.
  14. Life Below Water.
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace and Justice Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships to achieve the Goal

Egypt was among 193 countries that adopted the SDGs, one of these goals is directed to gender equality and empowerment of women and girls which is Goal 5, and it includes the following targets:

  1. 1- End all forms of discrimination against all women and girls everywhere.
  2. 2- Eliminate all forms of violence against all women and girls in the public and private spheres, including trafficking and sexual and other types of exploitation.
  3. 3- Eliminate all harmful practices, such as child, early and forced marriage and female genital mutilation.
  4. 4- Recognize and value unpaid care and domestic work through the provision of public services, infrastructure and social protection policies and the promotion of shared responsibility within the household and the family as nationally appropriate.
  5. 5- Ensure women’s full and effective participation and equal opportunities for leadership at all levels of decision making in political, economic and public life.
  6. 6- Ensure universal access to sexual and reproductive health and reproductive rights as agreed in accordance with the Program of Action of the International Conference on Population and Development and the Beijing Platform for Action and the outcome documents of their review conferences.
  7. 7- Undertake reforms to give women equal rights to economic resources, as well as access to ownership and control over land and other forms of property, financial services, inheritance and natural resources, in accordance with national laws.
  8. 8- Enhance the use of enabling technology, in particular information and communications technology, to promote the empowerment of women.
  9. 9- Adopt and strengthen sound policies and enforceable legislation for the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of all women and girls at all levels.